Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's Basketball Picked To Finish Sixth In SLIAC Preseason Poll

Women's Basketball Picked To Finish Sixth In SLIAC Preseason Poll

ST. LOUIS, Mo.—The St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SLIAC) released the 2018-19 Women's Basketball Preseason Poll and the Griffins come in at No. 6.

Greenville University, who were the No. 1 seed in the SLIAC Tournament last season, are picked to finish first after totaling 55 points and four first-place votes.

Spalding made a climb up to a tie for the No. 2 slot with 51 points and two first-place votes, while Westminster also tied the Golden Eagles. The reigning SLIAC Tournament Champion, Webster Gorloks, slide in at No. 4 with 46 points and one first-place vote.

The Griffins are coming off a 12-13 campaign in 2017-18 and finished 8-8 overall in the SLIAC. Paige Black and Raven Venegas were named to the All-Conference Third Team at the end of the season.

Black, a St. Louis, Mo. native, looks to build off her 2017-18 performance where she averaged career-high marks in points per game (11.0), minutes per game (29.0), field goals made (95), 3-pointers made (63), rebounds (71), assists (64), and steals (66).

Venegas, meanwhile, put up 9.6 points per game, shot a career-high 46.8 percent from the floor, and totaled 12 blocks in 19 games.

This season, along with bringing back the likes of Black and Raven Venegas, the team returns Mallory Proffer, Rylee Stafford, Riley Guffey, Jillian Venegas, and Sarah Schraut.

Newcomers Madison Boaz, Lauren Smith, and Chloe Loehr all look to make impacts on the court in 2018-19.

The Griffins get its season underway on Friday at home in an exhibition game against William Woods. Tip-off at 6 p.m.

Fans make sure to stay updated on throughout the year for full updates and recaps on the women's basketball team.

2018-19 Women's Basketball Preseason Poll

  1. Greenville 55 (4)

       T-2  Spalding 51 (2)

       T-2 Westminster 51 (2)

       4.   Webster 46 (1)

       5.   Eureka 41

       6.   Fontbonne 35

       7.   Iowa Wesleyan 20

       8.   Blackburn 15

       9.   MacMurray 10